• 5 years full-time
  • Flexible training options available


  • Minimum PGY2+
  • Must register and then apply for appointment to an accredited training position prior to selection
  • Must pass Clinical Ophthalmic Pharmacology and Emergency Medicine (COPEM) Module 1 Exam prior to commencing training


  • 2 years Basic Training
  • 2 years Advanced Training
  • Final Year Training
  • Research requirement


  • There are six ophthalmology training networks throughout Australia and New Zealand: WA, SA, VIC, NSW, QLD & NZ
  • Applicants may apply for employment to any of these networks, each of which conducts a separate recruitment process
  • RANZCO conducts a National Ophthalmology Matching Program (NOMP) to match applicants’ preferences with their ranking from the relevant training network
Information from regionalmedicaltraining.com.au is intended as a summary to assist with career planning and has been developed by The South Eastern Regional Training Hubs Collaboration. While every effort has been made to ensure accuracy, details should be verified through the relevant Specialist College and health services. LAST UPDATED November 15, 2023