Surgery (SET)


  • Surgical Education and Training (SET) is the start of a minimum 4-7 years of training to become a specialist surgeon
  • Training is offered in 9 surgical specialties through the SET program
  • Duration of training varies depending on the surgical specialty selected
  • Recognition of prior learning (RPL) may apply
  • Flexible training available


  • Minimum PGY3+
  • Trainees are selected directly into the surgical specialty in which they will undertake the SET program
  • Generic eligibility requirements – All applicants must complete the Hand Hygiene Learning Module, the Operating with Respect eLearning module and pass the Generic Surgical Science Examination (GSSE) before applying
  • Each specialty also has specific eligibility requirements including mandatory clinical rotations that must be completed prior to application


  • Requirements vary for each surgical specialty but all involve surgical rotations to training posts accredited by RACS and/or the relevant specialty societies


  • ASSET: Australian and New Zealand Surgical Skills Education and Training
  • CCrISP®: Care of the Critically Ill Surgical Patient
  • EMST: Early Management of Severe Trauma
  • CLEAR: Critical Literature Evaluation and Research (mandatory for General Surgery but not all surgical specialties)
  • TIPS: Training in Professional Skills (not mandatory for General Surgery)
Information from is intended as a summary to assist with career planning and has been developed by The South Eastern Regional Training Hubs Collaboration. While every effort has been made to ensure accuracy, details should be verified through the relevant Specialist College and health services. LAST UPDATED November 15, 2023